February: Who was Aga Muller and why was she in Skerries?

by Paul Synnott

Paul Synnott

Tuesday 14 February 2023 in Skerries Bowling Club at 8:15pm

The new volume of Time and Tide (Tide & Tide 13) will also be on sale at the meeting.


All are very welcome (€5 admission to non-members)

Annual Membership fee for season 2022/ 23

The Annual Membership fee remains €10 for 2022/23. Many thanks to all who have already renewed. Email oldskerries@gmail.com if you are not sure if you have paid. You can renew by dropping the cash into Oona in Kelly’s Bay (email oldskerries@gmail.com for the address and mark the envelope clearly!) or renew online here.

Time & Tide Vol 13

Time & Tide, Volume 13, published October 2022, contains nine papers on diverse topics from our archive. Topics explored range in date from the mid-19th century to the turn of the 21st century and concern education, sport, travel, local folklore, the arts and community projects, industrial heritage and the Irish Civil War.

Time & Tide can be purchased online by clicking here.

It is also available in several local shops: Skerries Mills, Skerries Bookshop and Greg Reddin’s.

Fingal Fieldnames project

Skerries Historical Society is one of six groups chosen by Fingal County Council to help with the Fingal Fieldnames Project

This is a continuing project in which we hope to record as many of the names of the fields of Fingal as possible.

If you are interested in participating please contact Geraldine Clarke on 086-3468602 or email oldskerries@gmail.com. This is for everybody in the local community, you do not need to be a member of Skerries Historical Society.

Committee Members 2022/23

Chair – Brendan Grimes
Vice Chair – Carmel Power
Hon Secretary – Stephanie Bourke
Hon Treasurer – Oona Roycroft
Hon Librarian – Maree Baker
Hon Archivist – Sally Murray
PRO – vacant
with George Hand, Aidan Herron, Bernie McKenna, Edward Mullarkey.