Lecture – 2003
Author – Ni Mhurchadha, Maighread
This paper is the history of Haystown House and Estate near Rush, bounded by the townlands of Tyrellstown, Horestown and Kenure. From 1641 the family name was Carberry until 1725, then Edward Folie is listed. Next came Patrick Gentleman in 1735, followed by the best known family – Ong or Onge.
John Onge came to Haystown Estate in 1751. A qualified barrister, he was also High Sheriff of Dublin on several occasions, where he had other properties. John Onge died in 1764. His son Abel Onge – an army captain – inherited the estate. He was listed as Church Warden in Lusk Parish Church. His son, also Abel was living in Haystown in 1800. The correspondence with the Moore family, living in the Isle of Man, gives an insight into horticultural practices of the time and the healthy smuggling trade between Rush and the Isle of Man.
This very well researched paper gives us a fascinating look into the lives of the different families who lived in Haystown House up to 1798.
Themes: Townlands, Social History